direkt zum Inhalt springen

direkt zum Hauptnavigationsmenü

Sie sind hier

TU Berlin

Page Content

French President Calls Upon the Expertise of TU Berlin Academic

Tuesday, 06. March 2018

Media Information No. 39/2018

Lupe

Art historian and Leibniz prize winner Prof. Dr. Bénédicte Savoy and the Sengalese scholar, author and musician Prof. Dr. Felwine Sarr have been commissioned by Emmanuel Macron to examine under which conditions artistic works from African countries could be returned by France to their countries of origin.

President Emmanuel Macron of France announced during the official visit of Patrice Talon, president of Benin, to Paris on 5 March 2018 that a commission is to be established for the possible restitution of artworks to Africa. The responsibility for examining possibilities and forms for the potential return of artworks which have been exhibited and stored in French museums since the colonial era now lies with Prof. Dr. Savoy and Prof. Dr. Sarr. Bénédicte Savoy is professor of art history at Technische Universität Berlin and at the Collège de France in Paris.  Felwine Sarr is professor of economics at the Gaston Berger University in Senegal, as well as a poet and musician.
 
The two experts commissioned with this task by Mr. Macron have time until November 2018 to draft their recommendations. Key elements to be examined in this process are the conditions under which these works can be handed back to their countries of origin and how to ensure their future protection. Prof. Dr. Savoy and Prof. Dr. Sarr will engage in discussions with representatives of various groups from African states as well as France.

I am particularly grateful to have the opportunity to work with such an outstanding and multi-faceted colleague as Felwine Sarr

Bénédicte Savoy very much welcomes Mr. Macron’s decision, saying: “I am particularly grateful to have the opportunity to work with such an outstanding and multi-faceted colleague as Felwine Sarr in an area with which I have been engaged for twenty years. We are of the same generation and we share many views concerning how to achieve our mission. It strikes me as particularly important that Felwine Sarr is not only an acknowledged and successful academic but also a writer and musician.  Our mission is concerned with culture in the truest sense of the word.“
 
“The decision of President Emmanuel Macron of France to call upon an academic from TU Berlin to undertake this challenging task is further proof of Bénédicte Savoy’s outstanding expertise in the area of provenance research“, says Prof. Dr. Christian Thomsen, president of Technische Universität Berlin. “The debate concerning provenance is also highly topical in Germany. We can see this on the one hand in the ongoing discussions concerning the Humboldt-Forum in Berlin, as well as on a national level in the determination of the coalition partners to increase the funding for provenance research as recently established in the coalition agreement.“

Video interview (in German)

About Bénédicte Savoy

sc

For further informations please contact:

Stefanie Terp
Spokesperson of TU Berlin
Tel.: 030 314-23922

Zusatzinformationen / Extras

Quick Access:

Schnellnavigation zur Seite über Nummerneingabe

Auxiliary Functions

This site uses Matomo for anonymized webanalysis. Visit Data Privacy for more information and opt-out options.

direkt zum Inhalt springen

direkt zum Hauptnavigationsmenü

Sie sind hier

TU Berlin

Inhalt des Dokuments

Französischer Staatspräsident holt Expertise von TU-Wissenschaftlerin ein

Dienstag, 06. März 2018

Medieninformation Nr. 39/2018

Lupe

Kunsthistorikerin und Leibniz-Preisträgerin Prof. Dr. Bénédicte Savoy und der senegalesische Wissenschaftler, Autor und Musiker Prof. Dr. Felwine Sarr untersuchen im Auftrag von Emmanuel Macron, unter welchen Bedingungen künstlerische Werke afrikanischer Länder von Frankreich an die Herkunftsländer zurückgegeben werden könnten.

Der französische Präsident Emmanuel Macron hat anlässlich des Staatsbesuches des beninischen Präsidenten Patrice Talon in Paris am 5. März 2018 die Einrichtung einer Kommission für die mögliche Restitution von Kunstwerken an Afrika angekündigt. Es liegt nun in der Verantwortung von Bénédicte Savoy und Felwine Sarr, über Möglichkeiten und Formen etwaiger Rückgaben von Kunstwerken, die sich seit der Kolonialzeit in französischen Museen befinden, an afrikanische Länder nachzudenken. Savoy ist Professorin für Kunstgeschichte an der Technischen Universität Berlin und am Collège de France in Paris. Sarr ist Professor für Wirtschaft an der L'Université Gaston Berger im Senegal sowie Dichter und Musiker.  

Die beiden von Macron berufenen Experten haben bis November 2018 Zeit, ihre Empfehlungen zu formulieren. Sie werden insbesondere prüfen, unter welchen Bedingungen diese Werke an ihre Herkunftsländer gegebenenfalls übergeben und dann geschützt werden können. Dafür werden sie mit Vertreterinnen und Vertretern verschiedener Gruppen afrikanischer Länder und Frankreichs ins Gespräch kommen.

"Ich bin besonders dankbar dafür, mit einem so vielseitigen und eindrucksvollen Kollegen wie Felwine Sarr zusammenzuarbeiten."

Bénédicte Savoy freut sich sehr über die Entscheidung Macrons und sagt: „Ich bin besonders dankbar dafür, mit einem so vielseitigen und eindrucksvollen Kollegen wie Felwine Sarr zu einem Thema, das mich seit 20 Jahren beschäftigt, zusammenzuarbeiten. Wir gehören derselben Generation an, und wir teilen viele Ansichten über die Art und Weise, wie wir unsere Mission erfüllen wollen. Mir erscheint es besonders wichtig, dass Felwine Sarr nicht nur ein anerkannter, erfolgreicher Wissenschaftler ist, sondern auch Schriftsteller und Musiker. Es wird uns bei unserer Mission um Kultur im ernsthaftesten Sinne des Wortes gehen.“

„Dass der französische Staatspräsident Emmanuel Macron eine Wissenschaftlerin der TU Berlin bei dieser herausfordernden Aufgabe zurate zieht, ist ein weiterer Beleg der außergewöhnlichen Expertise Bénédicte Savoys im Bereich der Provenienzforschung“, so der Präsident der Technischen Universität Berlin Prof. Dr. Christian Thomsen. „Die Debatte um Provenienz ist auch in Deutschland hochaktuell. Das zeigen einerseits die anhaltenden Diskussionen um das Humboldt-Forum in Berlin und andererseits auf Bundesebene der Wille der Koalitionäre, die Mittel der Provenienzforschung – so wie es kürzlich im Koalitionsvertrag festgeschrieben wurde – zu stärken.“  

"Als Wissenschaftlerin sollte man nicht leise murmeln." Bénédicte Savoy im Video-Interview

Über Bénédicte Savoy

sc

Weitere Informationen erteilt Ihnen gern:

Stefanie Terp
Pressesprecherin der TU Berlin
Tel.: 030 314-23922

Zusatzinformationen / Extras

Direktzugang

Schnellnavigation zur Seite über Nummerneingabe

Diese Seite verwendet Matomo für anonymisierte Webanalysen. Mehr Informationen und Opt-Out-Möglichkeiten unter Datenschutz.